Leonardo Castorina
1 min readFeb 3, 2023

--

Hey Nathan,

No worries let's try to solve the problem together. If Obsidian says "no citation found" it's likely to be your .bib file path.

I recommend you go to Preferences > Community Plugins > Citations and check that the "Citation database path" exists.

For debugging, try placing it somewhere simple like the Desktop.

If the path is good, I recommend inserting your citation with the command palette. CMD + P > Citations: Insert Markdown Citation . If the path is correct, you should already see some citations or papers as shown in this picture:

https://miro.medium.com/v2/resize:fit:720/format:webp/1*wO_A5mGXfgkViqBznOsPpA.png

If all of the above is good, it may have to do with your path to Pandoc, though I think that the hovering you described suggests the problem is somewhere in the path.

Feel free to DM me on Twitter / email me. I'm sure we will figure it out and I can update my article to be more accurate :)

--

--